Health Briefs consciousness

Published on May 31st, 2022 | by Lois Kramer-Perez


Navigating the Stages of Consciousness

Some things become so ingrained in our daily routine that we do them without even thinking about it. Think about how many things do we do automatically and how many times we respond to others without really being aware of what we are saying. It may see that we are in a trance.

When we truly wake-up, we realize some of these patterns are keeping us from being present. Upon noticing we have done something unconsciously is the time to begin a shift. This happens in stages. At first, we become conscious of something and don’t do anything about it. The next time, we’re a little more aware. Finally, we think about doing something and choose to do it differently. That is creating a new pattern to be more present. Here is a simple way to look at the concept of consciousness.

  1. Unconsciously Incompetent: We don’t know what we don’t know. Ignorance.

Example: We see people driving cars for the first time as a child. Wow! Look at that! Something I have never seen before.

  1. Consciously Incompetent: You are aware of something we want to know, something we want to change. Desire.

Example: We are older and are curious, aware that we do not know how to drive a car.

  1. Consciously Competent: We are taking conscious actions to change our state.

Example: We are 16 years old and can get a driver’s permit. We take driving lessons. Each time we get in the car, we take time to get acclimated, put on the seat belt, start the engine, focus on placing our hands on the wheel, check the mirrors, take a deep breath and begin to drive. Each action is thoughtful.

4. Unconsciously Competent: We just know. It becomes second nature. Knowing.

Example: WE get in the car and drive.

These are the four stages of becoming aware. This is happening all the time. It is how we navigate through everything. We all have our own unique timetable for our journey and wherever we are is where we are supposed to be. Celebrate each stage of awareness. We will begin to see that where we are right now may not have fit too well into our life 10 years ago, five years ago, one year ago or one week ago.

Where we are now is what’s important. How we are relating to what’s happening around us right now is important. This helps to keep moving forward. As we evolve, we begin to see things through a different lens. Somethings we may have seen one way all of a sudden changes as if one morning, we open our eyes and notice, “Wow, now I get it!”

Embrace the moment and get excited when we realize we find yourself in Stage 1: Unconsciously Incompetent, because we know the best is yet to come. Explore replacing expectation with fascination.


Lois Kramer-Perez, CHt., is a certified feng shui, hypnosis, NLP and NAP practitioner. To register for her Thursday Morning Circle, visit LoisKramerPerez.com/my-events.

Tags: , , , , ,

About the Author

Lois Kramer-Perez is an intuitive feng shui practitioner based in Paramus. For more information, call 201-906-5767, email Lois@LoisKramerPerez.com or visit LoisKramerPerez.wordpress.com

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑

Network-wide options by YD - Freelance Wordpress Developer